The Crazy News Guy

Say Hello to the Newest ‘World’s Tallest Man’!

In Bao Xishun, China, Guinness Book of Records, Leonid Stadnyk, News, Sandy Allen, Ukraine, Uncategorized, World, world record, Worlds Tallest Man on August 9, 2007 at 9:18 pm

 

Through the roof!… You know what they say about men with big feet…

Move over Bao Xishun of China, Ukrainian Leonid Stadnyk is the toast of his homeland, after being declared the new world’s tallest man in London by the Guinness Book of Records.

Bao and the new Mrs.

Yep, poor old recently married Bao is now yesterday’s hero, but at least he can now go back to the simple life and Leonid can step into the spotlight, and fascinate the world with his 2.58 m (8 ft 5+12 inch) frame.

At one with the trees, just do it!

And Leonid has a team of Soviet era Ukrainian surgeons to thank, because back in 1985 he underwent a brain operation, which apparently stimulated his pituitary gland a bit too much, and contributed, to his massive growth.

Didn’t the Chernobyl nuclear reactor disaster happen around the same time as well? Hrmmm? Makes you think….

Unfortunately for Leonid, his growth continues, even as he heads into his late 30’s.

41.jpg There is some big hands! Shack will be jealous…

“My two-year-old suit’s sleeves and pants are now 30 centimetres (12 inches) shorter than I need…my height is God’s punishment. My life has no sense,” he told reporters back in 2004.

He had previously laid claim to being the world’s tallest man, however it was only until recently that he allowed the Guinness Records to officially measure him.

He quit his job as a veterinarian in 2001, and now lives with his mother and works on a farm in the small town of Podolyantsi.

r166703_619895.jpg

“He is a most unselfish, diligent man of a pure soul,” said a neighbour of Leonid back in 2004.

The tallest man in history, however, was Robert Pershing Wadlow from the United States, standing at a whopping 2.72 meters (8 ft 11.1 in) tall. He died in 1940 after he developed an infection of the foot (people died more easily back in those days).

wadlow5.jpg Tallest in medical history.

The world’s tallest woman is Sandy Allen of Indiana, USA. She stands at 2.31 m (7 ft 7 in).

120058859_72e2f6dfb7.jpg ‘Tallest Woman’, Sandy Allen in the late 1970’s.

Click to See more from Guinness!

To help celebrate the passing of the baton of world’s tallest men, from China to Ukraine, 80’s pop singer Yazz decided to drop on by and dedicate her dance hit classic to Leonid Stadnyk and his wonderful achievement….

Well done again, Leonid, well done…

Yes, that’s right. The only way IS up.

While you are here, please, check out more amazing stories on The Crazy News Blog homepage!!!…

Go on, tell the world! AddThis Social Bookmark Button

  1. Love this post, highly entertaining and factual at the same time! Keep it up 🙂

  2. Thank you Jesse! It’s jammed full of facts
    I’ve got to admit, I’m a huge fan of Guinness Book of Records. Could spend hours reading pointless facts about outrageous world records….

  3. Admit it, you are all wondering if their penis size matches up.

  4. I was waiting for you to write that! I set it up for you man.. Bam!

  5. Ever seen a documentary on cable about elephant ‘social behaviour’?
    Yeahhhh…

  6. Sorry about that here is link

    Meet the a Tall Women
    http://www.ssqq.com/jokes/jokepictallestwoman.htm

    http://www.makefunnies.com (You can delete my last comment)

  7. Just a quick word–in 2004, it was unknown whether Leonid’s pituitary tumor was still alive and active. Since then, two doctors have confirmed that his growth hormone levels are normal and the tumor has died.

    As a result, he is not expected to grow any more, though he is expected to live out a long and healthy life with the aid of hormonal supplements.

  8. hello 😛

  9. Love the song.. Love the blog.. At least he is good at ducking in and out of places…

  10. Your information on Robert Wadlow is incorrect.

    “He died in 1940 after a tumour developed in his pituitary gland.”

    The tumour was the cause of his growth, and he died due to a toe infection.

    Thanks for the article 🙂

  11. hahahahahahahahaaha your posts get better and better and your comments on them are getting funnier day by day keep it up

  12. I wish this man well! I just watched a documentary on him tonight on Discovery Health. I wish nothing but, the best for this man and if he would like a friend who will not judge him and be someone he can talk to he may email me any time.

    Hugs to Leonid!

    Sincerely,
    Tracy Hamilton
    (Ohio) USA

  13. Leonid,
    God is watching out for you.I am sure he is very proud of you.
    All the best
    Angela

  14. I saw a documentary about Leonid and I was so touched by how incredibly gentle his soul is even after having gone through so much. It is wonderful that his tumor has died and he can now feel connected to the world with the help of the internet… God and his mother must be so proud of such a good son. I only wish I could call him a friend.

  15. Hi,
    I was glad to see Professor Bessmer was able to confirm that the tumor is dead and that you are in general good health. I hope you will continue to get your growth hormone levels checked regularly and aren’t so scared to visit a doctor in the future.
    Best of luck to you and my prayers are with you.
    Melinda
    Tennessee
    USA

  16. I watched a documentary about Leonid yesterday. I think i learn a lot from him. His strenght, concern for a family and cheerful spirit really ispired me. Best wishes to you! And for all those people who discriminate anybody ’cause of how he or she looks – you should think about what you are doing, and think how the world will be monotonnous if everyone look the same.

  17. Watched the documentary with much interest. So happy tumor is gone… how wonderful. I read that you had financial trouble with affording custom made shoes. Would be pleased to help you with that. E-mail if I can be of assistance.
    Take care, Linda F.

  18. Hello,

    Does anyone knows how to get Leonid Stadnyk’s?

    My shoemaker wants to give him a pair of shoes for free, but we don’t know the address. Ukraine consul in Portugal doesn’t replay, so I’m trying to find it online…but I don’t understand russian.

    Let me know if you know 🙂

    Artur Martins
    Portugal

  19. Sandy Allen had a song named after her by Split Enz, which later became crowded house.

  20. Hello,
    WOW! I’ve just seen your docomentry on discovery health and I’m amazed! to say the least, Leonid is a very lucky man to have this condition and not need any operation, he’s cured himself and that’s fantastic.
    What he should do now is, take advantage of his situation and milk it for what it’s worth, which is a lot. If he done that both he and his mum could live in comfort for the rest of their lives, they deserve that, what a lovely family and they both beleave in God and that it was God’s work that made him well, there must be some truth in that don’t you think.
    Well Leonid, good luck to you and your mother and may God continue to help you through life.
    Good luck and God bless.
    Suzie

  21. Everyone is unique, and everyone is the way they are for a reason. Maybe Leonid is the way he is to make a difference in someones life. I know hw made a difference in mine. Write me if you’d like to, Leonid

    Amanda

  22. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! LYK3 HOW DO U GUYSZ MANAG3 NOT TO WALK INTO THINGSZ…..HOW DO U GET ON THE BUSSSS

  23. Leonid,

    You are an amazing man. Not because of the size of your body, you are amazing based of the size of your heart! You are a kind, warmhearted and generous human being. You might be 8′ 5″ tall, however, in my eyes you are 10′ tall due to your kindness and spirit. Write me any time you find a spare moment. Be well Leonid.

    Sincerely,

    Peter

  24. I would love to email or write a letter to Leonid. I have been to the end of the net and back in search of contact information and my journey was fruitless. Could somebody please let me know if they have any info? I was sure I would at least find a web page but, nothing. Thanks for any help!!

  25. Hi Leonid,

    I wish you so much luck and I wish I could help you… I hope you are well and am glad that you are getting help from people who care.
    Think about you and your family often since I saw your story.
    Take care and write anytime, I would love to talk about your country and mine.
    Nicole

  26. I would like to know how to contact Leonid Stadnik by email. If anyone knows how I might obtain his email address please let me know at: elizabethannschreffler@hotmail.com. I have been reading about Leonid an think he is a wonderful person whom I would be happy to coorespond with. I have a friend from Kosovo and he is a very nice man too. Leonid seems to have the same values as my friend.

  27. Hello Leonid,

    Just a thanks for sharing your story. I commend you for the loving way in which you are handling your many challenges in life. As a mom, I would be proud to call you my son and will forever keep you and your Mom in my prayers. Feel free to embrace my prayerful hand in friendship any time! Mom too although, I only speak English. Wishing you peace and happiness daily!

    Take care,
    Mary

  28. Keep smiling and be proud of who you are.

  29. Hello Leonid,
    So impressed to read your story and how you are handling what must be an incredibly difficult situation. I believe God has a plan and purpose for all things and that He can take your circumstances and create something wonderful out them! Please know that prayers and well wishes are going up from thousands of friends around the world for your health, happiness and hearth! God bless!
    Steve – Spokane Valley WA USA

  30. Hello Leonid,
    I pray for God to bless you in all that you do. If you would like to communicate via email, I would be honored. Keep your eyes and heart on Jesus. Dawn

  31. Helloooooooooo, World’s Tallest Man! 😀

  32. Hello to Leonid and his family. I think its wonderful that your family helps out and that you do the same. If you ever need a “mom” to talk to, email me. I will promply respond. In fact, I am hoping you do respond. I would very much like to just be your Colorado (USA) friend! My daughet is handicapped, only 9, but has known since she was 2 that she wants to be a vet. Maybe we can share some animal stories. I am female and 55, four kids. My youngest, is now nine. Would really love to hear from you! ~Marci~

  33. Hello

    U are one gifted guy man. May god bless you. Have a wonderful and peaceful life.

  34. Leonid, what I’ve read of you and your life tells me what a wonderful man you are. My very best to you and your mother. Please consider me a friend along with the many on this site.

  35. Dear Leonid:

    I just saw an article about you on the internet, and I find you to be an inspiring human being. You are a beautiful soul, and watching the joy on your face as you rode the bicycle for the first time gives me joy as well. Watching you gives me hope for the human race. When they say that there are angels among us, I truly believe that, and that you are most definitely one of them, God has blessed the world with your presence, and your resilience in the face of enormous adversity. I am awestruck by the gentleness I see in your soul, even with all the adversity you have had to face in your life thus far. And if you should Ever come across this and want to carry on a email friendship, then I would be truly blessed and honoured to be counted among your friends. May God bless you and your family with Peace, Love, and Joy.
    -Love and Hugs,

    Judy

  36. I would really like to know how to contact Leonid. My last name is also Stadnik and would like to know if we may be related somehow.My Grandparents immigrated from Checklosovachia.Duane

  37. G’day Leonid,looking at your photos on the internet you seem to be a gentle happy man,i hope life treats you & your family well.

  38. hii nice saw your blog.. Send my best regards to the tallest man in the world.. See you..

  39. Leonid Stadnyk is a FAKE!

    Here is the proof:
    http://leonidstadnyk.blogspot.com/

  40. saw you on the tv while watching with my daughter. we think you have an extradordinary life and are glad you are doing well. god bless you.

  41. Leonid,
    You look very nice. I would like to be your penpal, however, I don’t your email address. Here’s mine:
    Littlebear9@optonline.net
    Well, have a good day, or nite. Whatever!
    Lauren
    Your new friend forever
    P.S. BFF

  42. HI Mr Tallest Man on earth 🙂

Leave a comment