The Crazy News Guy

Juror: I’m a liar, homophobe & racist. Judge: Arrest that man!

In amazing story, American News, booking, comedy, court, crazy, Crazy news, Humour, jackass, jail, Justice, Massachusetts, Odd News, People, police, Society, stunt, United States, USA on July 11, 2007 at 4:00 am

 

I’ve never had to endure jury duty before and I’ve always thought to myself what I could do to get myself out of it if and when the call ever comes (touch wood it doesn’t).

A friend of mine once suggested that if the call up does come, I tell the judge in the case that I have certain anti-social attributes that might allow an excuse to go home. Well, before I got my chance to try someone in the United States had a go, and boy did it backfire!

A man called up for jury duty in Cape Code, Massachusetts, who claimed he was homophobic, racist and a habitual liar to avoid jury duty earned an angry rebuke from a judge; CNN reports the hilarious exchange between citizen and the state.

“In 32 years of service in courtrooms, as a prosecutor, as a defense attorney and now as a judge, I have quite frankly never confronted such a brazen situation of an individual attempting to avoid juror service,” Barnstable Superior Court Judge Gary Nickerson told Daniel Ellis, according to a preliminary court transcript of the exchange.

Ellis, of Falmouth, had been called to court with about 60 other potential jurors for possible service on a 23-member grand jury.

On a questionnaire that all potential jurors fill out, Ellis wrote that he didn’t like homosexuals and blacks. He then echoed those sentiments in an interview with Nickerson.

“You say on your form that you’re not a fan of homosexuals,” Nickerson said.

“That I’m a racist,” Ellis interrupted.

“I’m frequently found to be a liar, too. I can’t really help it,” Ellis added.

“I’m sorry?” Nickerson said.

“I said I’m frequently found to be a liar,” Ellis replied.

“So, are you lying to me now?” Nickerson asked.

“Well, I don’t know. I might be,” was the response.

Ellis then admitted he really didn’t want to serve on a jury.

“I have the distinct impression that you’re intentionally trying to avoid jury service,” Nickerson said.

“That’s true,” Ellis answered.

Nickerson ordered Ellis taken into custody. He was released later Monday morning.

Ellis could face perjury and other charges.

  The Cape of Cod

Leave a Reply

